job.answiz.com
  • 4
Votes
name
name Punditsdkoslkdosdkoskdo

OS X 10.9.4 Closes Application When Sleeping

First time to have MBP retina. My issue on my MBP is when I close my MBP to transfer to another location (house to coffee shop), when I open my MBP I notice that it closes the apps I have open before I leave the house.

I used chrome & opened 4 to 8 tabs, then when I arrived at the coffee shop it open the chrome again but the tabs are not there. It says "Google Chrome didn't shutdown properly" then a button "Click to restore tabs. I open sublime text editor on desktop 2, when I open the MBP the sublime is now located at desktop 1.

It is kinda weird, because my friend and I has the same MBP, but he is not experience this kind of issue. Someone can help me out this?

Summary: "I come back to work the system is locked down (i.e. I have to put my password), which is fine, and all applications are closed. They do however re-start and try to recover the state as I left them."

 

Since installing Yosemite I was seeing this behavior. Alistair's answer led me to check System Preferences/Security and Privacy. "Log out after" wasn't in the same place as in his posted picture, in Yosemite it has been moved to the privacy tab where I clicked on the "Advanced" button and then saw that the Yosemite install had set a default logout to happen after 60 minutes of inactivity. I unchecked the box and my apps are no longer closing when my mac is put into sleep mode. Problem solved! Thanks, Alistair.

  • 1
Reply Report

Summary: "I come back to work the system is locked down (i.e. I have to put my password), which is fine, and all applications are closed. They do however re-start and try to recover the state as I left them."

This sounds like you're actually logging out and back in, whereas what you want is to just require a password when waking (but remain logged in the whole time so none of your apps quit).

Go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy > Advanced... (you might need to click the Lock icon in the bottom left to enable this button). Make sure you have "Log out after X minutes of inactivity" disabled. Then you can enable "require password [immediately] after sleep or screen saver begins."

  • 1
Reply Report

It sounds like your Mac is set to automatically log you out after a period of inactivity.

Open System Preferences from the Apple menu in the top-left corner. Open the "Security & Privacy" preference pane. Click on the "Advanced..." button in the bottom-right corner. You may need to unlock the pane using the padlock icon in the bottom-left corner.

I think you'll find "Log out after XX minutes of inactivity" ticked. Untick it.

Advanced settings within Security & Privacy

  • 4
Reply Report